Huevos Rancheros

It was only fitting that my first post be what I cooked up tonight for dinner. It’s a recipe that says a lot about my style of cooking and the food I love to create…and eat!

How this recipe came about says even more about me. I was sat on a train, doing my usual commute home from work, scrolling through Instagram (as I’m sure you all do too) when I came across an image of something very similar to this. My belly rumbled more on this image than any other before it, so that was it, that was what I was cooking for my dinner. I took a look at a few recipes of Huevos Rancheros whilst on the train, wrote down a quick list of ingredients I needed from the supermarket and started to taste it already.

Huevos Rancheros is a popular breakfast dish in Mexico. It literally means Ranchers eggs, so you’re likely to see it served up in Mexican farms, when they’re not eating Cornish Pasties I’ve heard! I’m living in Sydney at the moment, so the insta post was probably intended for someone just waking up in the UK. But hey, who says you can’t enjoy brunch food whenever it tickles your fancy!

So here it is, The Cornish Cook’s take on Huevos Rancheros. Very tasty if I do say so myself…

Per person you will need:

Soft Tortillas (2 small as shown or 1 large) | 1 egg | Can of Black Beans | Guacamole | Chilli Flakes | Cumin | Olive Oil | A quarter of a red onion | Bunch of corriander | Fresh red chilli to taste | Salsa | Feta cheese | Half a lime

Dice the red onion and fry gently in some olive oil until translucent. Add a pinch of the chilli flakes and cumin and fry for about a minute until you can really smell the spices. You could use a small amount of a fajita seasoning sachet if you prefer. Add the can of black beans and simmer for about 10 minutes until all the liquid is gone. If the black beans are the text mex kind in a tasty sauce then chuck them in, sauce and all. If the beans are stored in brine, drain them and rinse them before adding them to the onions and add about 100ml of water to replicate the sauce.

Put the black bean mixture to one side and whip up some homemade Guacamole and Salsa. Feel free to substitute shop bought Guacamole and Salsa for a little time saver but I personally think it’s worth the extra effort both for your health and for your tastebuds! If you’re only cooking for one (like me), then there will be enough black beans for 2 portions. These can be frozen as required. Just give them a blast in the microwave or heat in a pan whenever you have a hankering for Huevos Rancheros or use them in a other Mexican favourites such as Burritos.

dbb9a82e-92c6-4422-a049-002ca68e311f

 

In a hot dry pan, toast your tortillas for about a minute on both sides. You can do this ahead of time and keep them warm in a pre-heated oven until you are ready to plate up. It’s probably best to do this if you seem to be feeding an army or are not so hot at multi-tasking.

Fry your eggs gently in some olive oil to your liking. I like to keep my yolk nice and runny but if a hard yolk is your ‘cup of tea’ then keep it in the pan for a bit longer. I like to season my egg while it’s frying with some salt and pepper. I’ve recently discovered jalapeno salt which is perfect for this recipe, check it out. To get a perfect egg (in my opinion) I pour some of the hot oil onto the yolk of the egg whilst it’s cooking so that the top get’s some of the heat needed for an evenly cooked egg.

Now it’s time to plate up.

Pop your toasted tortillas onto your plate and top with the black bean mixture, Guacamole and salsa. Add your fried egg on top and sprinkle some freshly chopped chilli (if you love chilli as much as I do) and some coriander and crumbed feta cheese on top. Then for an extra zing, squeeze some lime over the lot.

Make lots of mmmmm noises as you devour the lot and dream of Mexico!

img_0484

One thought on “Huevos Rancheros

Leave a Reply

